#2507 Start A Spoonflower Fabric Shop

Dynamic Duo Designs Marketing Plan for spoonflower.com Shop

Screen Shot 2017-04-14 at 2.04.09 PM.png

The five current designs available at Dynamic Duo Designs

First and foremost, the goal is to raise awareness. By starting my focus on local community, I will aim to develop a solid foundation of customers for my shop. To accomplish this first obstacle, I plan to develop a series of social media posts. However, these will not be simple black and white 140 character tweets or unassuming Facebook posts. Instead, I will use Canva to create eye catching images that highlight my various designs and invite viewers to check out my Spoonflower shop.

Screen Shot 2017-04-14 at 11.07.52 AM.png

An example of an advertisement that would be posted to social media. 

As you can see, the above design highlights a single design. This was intentional. My site features a wide variety of media to maximize the chance multiple groups will be drawn in. Rather than focus on a single format or theme, my shop offers diversity of design. This means someone may love one design, but not prefer another. To avoid putting off customers by highlighting multiple designs in a single advertisement, I will focus on one design per social media post.

To garner the local foundation, I will use these designs on my own social media sites to reach my immediate circle that includes the Ann Arbor, Traverse City, and University of Michigan community. After that first round of social media blasts, I will send another that encourages my circle to share the post with their friends. For instance, I can double my possible viewership simply by asking my boyfriend to share it with this peers. This would allow me to reach Eastern Michigan University, Wisconsin, and business professionals. As more people share the designs they like best, more and more people will know about my Spoonflower shop; my pool of possible customers will grow.

To maintain interest, I will continue to send out bi-weekly media posts on Tuesdays and Fridays. These will highlight different uses for my designs in a variety of settings. For instance, one week will show the above image. Then in a few weeks, the same design will be shown as gift wrap at a baby shower. It is the hope that showing how the designs can be used, will inspire people to make purchases.

In addition to purposefully growing my viewership and possible customer pool through social media strategies, I will make the best use possible of an integrated Spoonflower feature – tags. A tag is like a keyword that is used to describe an individual design. For instance, the above design is tagged as romantic, minimalistic, and delicate. Each of these tags was sent through multiple iterations to determine if minimal or simple was a stronger tag.

Screen Shot 2017-04-14 at 1.32.25 PM.png

Dynamic Duo Design’s Marketing Plan, including back-up plan.

As a backup to this original marketing plan, I will initiate a custom design program for my shop. This program will offer customized designs for people who want individualized wrapping paper for a birthday party or a wallpaper decal of a poem that is special to them. This program will be rolled out in a similar manner to the first part of the marketing plan. However, it will also target the less tech savvy older generation and busier individuals without time to invest in their projects. It will include also include an email of a newsletter to my contacts who do not have social media (once again targeting the older generation) and would be interested in the designs.

Screen Shot 2017-04-14 at 2.02.18 PM.png

Back up marketing plan announcement.

 

 

Leave a Reply

