#46 Super Awesome Sylvia’s Arduino Trio

Three videos of three very cool Arduino projects based on Super Awesome Sylvia, her open source code, and the free online Arduino software.

R.I.F.F = Randomly Influenced Finger Flute

The Arduino device best connected to the software. By this, I do not mean the part where we connected the USB to the computer – that was easily done. I mean the establishment of a link between our precariously balanced speaker and the actual code. Luckily, I found a very quick and easy to use online version of the software and was able to download the program from Super Awesome Sylvia to the Arduino device. Side note: who knew there were so many types of Arduino boards! Ours was a Red Uno model. As you can see from the video, we got the R.I.F.F working and were able to produce a range of sounds by placing our finger on the speaker.

Adjustable Strobe

The Strobe project probably went the easiest, though I did have some slight trouble figuring out how the input switch was supposed to work. Amazingly Awesome Sylvia uses a fan to move hers, but ours proved too solid to use that method. So, we used our fingers. As we turn the switch to the right, the LED went from a bright solid glow to a quick strobe. This was one of the first projects for me that was not a on/off, this-or-that, my way or the highway sort of deal. I really liked the gradual shift into faster and faster strobes. This project also gave us the opportunity to use some of the analog and digital pins at the same time. Fun fact from readings: digital pins can be inputs or outputs!

The Tapper

I went into the code and changed things! This was an intense moment, but I had been having a lot of trouble getting the Tapper code to upload into the Arduino. By reading through the code and comments, I was able to make the speaker more sensitive to touch and lean that three taps started the loop. Once the loop was started, the speaker played the little ditty you hear in the video. During this part of the video, I was also attempting to figure out what other tones the code and speaker could produce. This project ended up being the most difficult to pull off, but definitely gave me the highest feeling of accomplishment.

Not Quite my First BLINK

screen-shot-2017-01-31-at-4-07-57-pmscreen-shot-2017-01-31-at-4-10-22-pm

Above you can see a still of my first BLINK on the Arduino. A Blink is a very simple project that helps you learn to navigate the pins. For example, you put the negative LED (shorter) lead into the GND slot and the positive into 13 ( I learned this is because 13 is has a build in resistor. Cool right!). Since I was unable to get a whole video for this one – silly phones rebel against my paying attention to other tech perhaps – I added a screenshot of the code as well. For that reason and because I think the code is super cool and useful for understanding what is actually going on.

Leave a Reply

